ICOFOM Study Series

ICOFOM Study Series is a peer-reviewed, international journal for museum scholars, professionals, students and researchers, that examines up-to-date issues in the field of Museology. Museology (or museum theory) is here defined following the Key concepts of museology as comprising all the efforts at theorization and critical thinking about the museum field.The ICOFOM Study Series is theme-based. Topics for papers and for the annual symposium are defined and described by the ICOFOM board and posted on the ICOFOM website six months before the symposium.
ICOFOM Study Series enables the International Committee for Museology to serve as a forum for a theoretical research and discussion that deepens understanding of museology from international and interdisciplinary perspectives. The article to be selected for publication will meet the following criteria:
Adhere to the topics identified in the Provocative paper that is posted on the ICOFOM website six months before the symposium and lists the different ways the topic could be treated. Abstracts should respect these topics.
Be original and unpublished. Be theoretical and analytical rather than descriptive. Papers that merely focus on description or report of some museum or museological activities will not be accepted. The theoretical approach should be explicitly specified in the abstract:
  • why is the subject important for museology?
  • what theoretical perspective is chosen?
  • how would this contribute to the museological discussion?

Follow the guidelines (see below)

ICOFOM Study Series has been a platform for museological discussions since 1983, following a tradition established by its predecessor Museological Working papers (MuWoP). At different times in its history, it contained conference proceedings published before ICOFOM’s symposia or articles published afterwards. Since 2007, the growing number of ICOFOM members and of proposals as well as increasing professionalism led to a process of selection by peer-reviewing.

Since 2014 the ISS has been issued one year after the symposium once all submitted manuscripts have undergone double-blind review. Potential authors need to submit an abstract for a blind peer-review. After receiving approval, they are invited to present their papers at the ICOFOM’s annual symposium (which is not an obligation), followed by submission of the full article to the second round of a peer-review. Participation and presentation of a paper at the conference does not guarantee the publication of the elaborated article.

To submit an article, the author does not have to be an ICOFOM member.

The ICOFOM Study Series is now edited by Bruno Brulon Soares, Federal University of the State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Publication Frequency: semiannually
ISSN: 2309-1290 (Print)
Citation style: APA (to find references examples click here)

Guidelines for articles are available in English, French, and Spanish. 

ICOFOM Study Series Peer reviewer guidelines

Articles and correspondence should be sent to the following email: icofomsymposium@gmail.com


ICOFOM Study Series Editorial Board

Rédacteur / Editor:

  • Bruno Brulon Soares, Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UNIRIO), Brazil
Comité Éditorial / Editorial Board (2019-2022):
  • Yves Bergeron, Université du Québec à Montreal, Canada
  • Bruno Brulon Soares, Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Supreo Chanda, University of Calcutta, India
  • Yun Shun Susie Chung, Southern New Hampshire University, USA
  • Ann Davis, Former Director, The Nickle Arts Museum, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Annette B. Fromm, Florida International University, USA
  • Scarlet Galindo, Manager, Museo Nacional de Acuarela Alfredo Guati Rojo, Mexico
  • Anna Leshchenko, Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen, Germany
  • François Mairesse, Université Sorbonne-Nouvelle Paris 3, CERLIS
  • Jesús Pedro Lorente, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
  • Daniel Schmitt, Université Polytechnique Hauts-de-France, France
  • Markus Walz, Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig, Germany
  • Elizabeth Weiser, Ohio State University, USA
  • Zheng Yi,  复旦大学 Fudan University, China


Comité d’avis / Senior Advisory Committee:


  • Maria Cristina Bruno, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Bernard Deloche, Professor Emeritus, Université de Lyon 3, France
  • André Desvallées, Conservateur général honoraire du patrimoine, France
  • Peter van Mensch, Professor Emeritus, Reinwardt Academie, The Netherlands
  • Martin Schaerer, Past President of ICOM Ethics Committee, Switzerland
  • Tereza Scheiner, Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Anita Shah, Museum Consultant, India
  • Tomislav Šola, Professor, Director, The Best in Heritage (and EHA), Zagreb, Croatia
Secrétariat / Secretariat:
  • Sécrétaire général / General Secretary: Anna Leshchenko
  • Articles en français : Marion Bertin
  • Articles in English: Elizabeth Weiser
  • Artículos en español: Scarlet Galindo